The Salmo Valley Fund was established in 2011 when a generous donation of seed money from the Kootenay Savings Community Foundation was combined with an administrative partnership between the Nelson-based Osprey Community Foundation and the Salmo Community Resource Society.

We subsequently ran a successful campaign that raised over $20,000 from citizens, community groups, and businesses in order to access $50,000 in matching funds from the Columbia Basin Trust’s endowment support program.

Our granting program is administered by a local steering committee in partnership with the Osprey Community Foundation. Members of our steering committee are:

Mike van Wijk, Chair

Maureen Berk

Jack Jansen-Steenberg

Virginia Stockdale

Kurtis Paddison

Maureen Gagnier

New members are welcome!